Planes, Trains and Automobiles

Mom, Aunt Lois, and Me

Mom, Aunt Lois, and Me

Ok, so it was really just a plane and a rental car, and it wasn’t exactly over the holiday…but…

Mom and I took a trip! Check #28 off my list!

With Mom in Texas for a few weeks this winter, I thought it would be the perfect time to whisk her away for a mini-vacation to Florida. We spent 5 nights in the Tampa area, to visit her sister-in-law, Lois.

The view from the front patio.

The view from the front patio.

We had a relaxing visit just enjoying each other’s company, some shopping, and good food. We were a few weeks too early for the big strawberry festival in Plant City, but made a tasty trip to Parkesdale Farms for fresh-from-the-field strawberries–on ice cream! (We ate them so quickly that I failed to get a picture!

Nellie and Me

Nellie and Me

Me and Judy

Me and Judy

I also took a side trip to visit a couple friends–Nellie, a former colleague who recently moved to Florida; and Judy, someone I had known only online through my poetry connections. Such fun!

And…just because I’ve checked #28 off my list, doesn’t mean I’m opposed to taking another trip with my mom! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

